• TODAY’S TIP. . . .

    Store brown sugar in the freezer and it won’t clump up. Best to place it in a plastic baggie and removie it from the box.
  • HOW TO PRINT RECIPES & NAVIGATE ON THIS BLOG

    PRINTING RECIPES

    Click on the title of the recipe, then look at the bottom of that recipe and you will see where it says, “Print and PDF”. Click that and you should be able to print the recipe. You can delete the picture by “checking” no images at the top of the page and if you hold your mouse over any part of the text you want to delete, it will turn yellow and you can delete that part. You can also “save” the recipes by clicking on “PDF”.

    NAVIGATION

    Click the photos on the left and right sidebars of the blog to visit the different types or recipes, such as "appetizers & dips", "crockpot recipes", etc.

  • Follow Me on Pinterest
  • The content of my entire web site is protected by copyright laws. If you wish to repost to your site, please ask for permission. If photos are stolen from this site that are under copyright, you will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Judy Yeager, The Southern Lady Cooks.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,149 other subscribers
  • CONTACT ME

    My e-mail address: the southernladycooks@gmail.com
  • MY PAST POSTS

  • Featured Author
    Featured Author
    view my recipes
    Featured Author
  • Southern Food Bloggers
  • Foodbuzz
  • Very Good Recipes
    My recipes are on
    Very Good Recipes

VANILLA WAFER CAKE

Vanilla Wafer CakeThis Vanilla Wafer Cake has been around for years. I used to make it back in the seventies when my children were small and we lived on the farm.  I have been going through some of my old recipes and came across this one and decided to make it to post on the blog.  You can serve it plain or with caramel sauce.  This cake is great with coffee or as a dessert anytime.

2 sticks butter or margarine, or 1 cup
1 3/4 cups sugar
6 eggs
1/2 cup evaporated milk (can use regular milk)
11 ounce box of vanilla wafers, crushed (Put in plastic bag and crush with rolling pin)
1 1/2 cups coconut
1 teaspoon lemon extract
1 cup nuts of your choice
 
Cream butter and sugar; add eggs and continue mixing.  Add milk, vanilla wafers and coconut along with lemon extract using mixer until well blended. Fold in nuts.  Pour into sprayed bundt pan.  Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes until center is done.  Cool for 15 to 20 minutes and remove from pan.  Enjoy!
 
Caramel Sauce:
 
 
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
4 tablespoons butter or margarine
2 tablespoons corn syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
 
Bring to boil on top of stove and let boil for one minute. Remove from stove and add vanilla. Let cool to the consistency you like. It will harden as it cools. This sauce can be used on cakes, sweet rolls, etc.
Vanilla Wafer Cake 
Click to follow The Southern Lady Cooks on Facebook.
 
Judy

27 Responses

  1. Oh Judy! This looks divine. I have an old recipe for this cake in my files somewhere from years ago too, but mine didn’t have the sauce to top it off. Love that – pinning this!

  2. I’ve made this cake many times but I use vanilla extract. This cake is so moist & tastes great. The recipe I use doesn’t have the caramel sauce.

  3. Curious, why can’t I forward your recipes to myself? Thanks bunches, I really enjoy your site.

  4. Soon as I saw this I had to pin it. I love recipes like this.

  5. Do you remember a recipe that used to be on the vanilla wafer box that had crushed pineapple and whipped topping layered between a cookie crust and crumbled topping? It was a refrigerated dessert-looking for recipe amounts-it was a light,yet creamy square of deliciousness!

    • It sounds kind of familiar, Linda, but I don’t have the recipe.

    • I have a recipe that uses saltine crackers that sounds like what you are mentioning. It is kind of a cookie crust with whipped cream over it and then crushed pineapple on top of that. It’s called silly pie ! Delicious.

  6. Judy, this cake is fantastic and so moist. I didn’t even have to lift a finger to make it. Shared your recipe with my sister and wha-la she did all the work. Thanks Judy this one is a keeper! And so is my sister…Lol

  7. this looks fantastic, can you use a different pan besides the bundt pan?

  8. Another wonderful recipe!! Made another sourdough pizza crust with your starter. You have made my life so much easier with your starter and wonderful crockpot recipes. Thank you, thank you!!

  9. No coconut. What could I use insread? Or skip it. Hummmm

  10. could you use graham crackers instead?

  11. Does this cake not have flour in it at all ?

  12. Cant wait to try it! Sounds so YUMMY!!

  13. Can this be made in a 9 x 13 pan?

  14. This sounds delish! I just made it and didn’t have enough coconut or any nuts so I put a bag of trail mix! With fruit, almonds and peanuts. I also used vanilla paste! I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  15. Also we moved to Germany a year ago and I still haven’t found my bundt pan so I put it in a 9×13

  16. Can you leave out the coconut?

Leave a comment